DAY 31 – July 29, 2012 – Mount Vernon

Today we visited Mount Vernon.  Mount Vernon is one of my favorite places on earth.  I know why Washington wished to be home.  He lived the life I dream of living.  I love his gardens, the Potomac, his farms, his animals, I love his self sufficiency.  I told Mr. S, it’s the only other home I would rather have than ours.

I was so excited to return.  I’ve dreamed about it since my visit last year.  I imagined I would find it not as exciting as I remembered, but it was.  And after seeing his gardens again, I’m ready to revamp our garden when we get home, and I have a new style of fencing I’d really like to test on our goats…I’m still trying to get Mr. S on board.

They have a great museum, and education center.  Their movies were well done.  We sat in a movie that shook our seats, and snowed on us.  The kids loved the 4D effects.

I do want to say something else about Mount Vernon.  It was stuck in my memory from our last visit.  But it hit me again on this trip.  I do not know all the facts, but I know that Mount Vernon is not part of the National Parks, like you would think.  That totally surprised me.  But apparently lack of money or interest, kept our government from purchasing Mount Vernon.  So a woman saw how dilapidated Mount Vernon was getting and decided something needed to be done about it.

Ann Pamela Cunningham, a 37-year-old from rural South Carolina, founded the Mount Vernon Ladies Association in 1853 with the

The Potomac River from the backyard of Mount Vernon

express purpose of saving Washington’s home for future generations.  She said, “If the men of America are allowing the home of its most respected hero to go to ruin, why can’t the women of America band together to save it?”  It is still run by the Association today.  I love it!

Back to today…our older three kids are pretty sick though.  We had wanted to go to a couple other stops, but they had to be pushed aside, so the kids could rest.  We got to our new camp and setup.

Then we had a wonderful visit with my cousin.  We haven’t seen each other for, gosh, I’m embarrassed to say, maybe over 20 or 25 years.  (Now that makes me sound ancient!)  It was very fun to introduce our families, and spend time visiting.  We are going to try to catch up again for a Nationals game.

Winnowing wheat at Mount Vernon Farm

Oh and how can I not mention, she brought the most amazing food…my new addiction.  I don’t know if I will be able to find it in Boise.  It’s Korean double fried chicken.  Amazing!  She left some with us, and it took all my self control not to eat before bed.  (But it might be my breakfast!)

It was a simple day, but very nice.  I loved our visit this evening.  It was so nice to see family.  It was a perfect end to a peaceful day.

I do hope the kids get better soon.  They have already asked to cut Fredericksburg out of the plan tomorrow.  So we will visit Bull Run, and then whoever feels up to it will be going to the Water Park.  Bull Run Regional Park (where we are camped) is amazing.  Lots of trees, clean, and a water park!  I’m hoping maybe water will perk up our sick kids.  I know I’m super excited!

Summary of Day 31

Drove:  69 miles (98995-99064)

Places we visited or saw:  Mount Vernon and Bull Run Regional Park

Pictures will be posted later, running late today…

2 thoughts on “DAY 31 – July 29, 2012 – Mount Vernon

  1. Pingback: Tentative Itinerary | godncountry

  2. Pingback: All the site and events we saw…and links to each | godncountry

Leave a comment